Skip to main content

Series 3: District Correspondence, 1917 - 1933

Identifier: B011.03
In late 1917, the newly merged synod organized into six districts. By 1920, the synod had grown from six districts to eight with the inclusion of the Pacific Northwest District and the Dakota Montana District.* Bergemann used this district structure to organize the greatest share of his correspondence from 1918 until the end of his presidency. Correspondence with individuals and congregations was reckoned according to the district where the pastor or congregation was located. Synodical institutions are often reckoned in the same manner. Bergemann subdivides each district’s correspondence into an early (1918-1925) and late (1926-1933) series. [*n.b. Bergemann organized Dakota-Montana District correspondence within Nebraska District correspondence (sub-series 3cα-3cβ). In addition, correspondence regarding the Pacific Northwest District and regarding congregations in Arizona was organized within North-Wisconsin District correspondence (sub-series 3dα-3dβ).]


Sub-series 3aα: Michigan District (1918-1925) 247--256

Sub-series 3aβ: Michigan District (1926-1933) 257--262

Sub-series 3bα: Minnesota District (1918-1925) 263--279

Sub-series 3bβ: Minnesota District (1926-1933) 280--293

Sub-series 3cα: Nebraska District (1918-1925) 294--304

Sub-series 3cβ: Nebraska District (1926-1933) 305--310

Sub-series 3dα: North-Wisconsin District (1918-1925) 311--330

Sub-series 3dβ: North-Wisconsin District (1926-1933) 331--346

Sub-series 3eα: Southeast-Wisconsin District (1918-1925) 347--359

Sub-series 3eβ: Southeast-Wisconsin District (1926-1933) 360--376

Sub-series 3fα: West-Wisconsin District (1918-1925) 377--394

Sub-series 3fβ: West-Wisconsin District (1926-1933) 395--407


  • 1917 - 1933
  • Majority of material found within 1918 - 1933


Conditions Governing Use

Copyright restrictions may apply. User is responsible for all copyright compliance.


161 File Folder (File Folders 247-407 are found in Box 3 and Box 4.)